Take It From Me: What to Expect at a Blue Man Group Performance!

October 6, 2015

What to Expect at a Blue Man Group Performance!

Have you had the true Blue Man Group experience? 


Last month my husband and I treated ourselves to a date night and went to the Blue Man Group here in Chicago. I had never been to a Blue Man Group performance and I didn't know what to expect, but honestly, I don't think you will ever know what will happen at a Blue Man Group performance! 


The performance was definitely a unique one and I just loved how the show was brilliantly put together. This performance will make you smile, will make you laugh and will make you think, all while you are throwing your hands in the air like you just don't care. There were many moments where I felt like I was 5 years-old again as we were brought on a thrilling multi-sensory experience.

There were robots, giant iPads, marshmallows, Captain Crunch, Jello, drumming and of course LOTS of paint. It was a hilarious comedy performance that was unlike anything I had seen before. 

The moment we walked into the theater, I knew that it was going to be fun. We were not allowed to take photos of the performance, so just imagine walking into a theater and seeing on the stage random big pillars of spinning water, like when you were in school and made a tornado in a bottle. The stage was all black and completely empty. When the show was about to start there was an electronic sign that had silly random messages for us while we waited. The entire show went on like this… completely random! There was then a spotlight that shone on a random person in the audience and said that they were going to sing our national anthem! HAHA! I am sure they had a heart attack!

The show began with colorful paint and drumming. The paint shot high up in the air like sparks in the sky as they drummed. They had bottles of paint that they continued to pour on the barrels as they made music.

Their hands and faces were completely blue and their mysterious child-like character was extremely entertaining because you just didn't know what they were going to do next. My favorite part of the show was when they went seat walking. They would come down off the stage and just climb through the audience. I have to be honest it was kind of creepy, yet it was super funny watching the audiences reaction to the Blue Man. 

After the show, we were able to stay and interview a Blue Man. He told us that when they go out into the audience sometimes it takes a while to find that one person who they have a connection with and will go along with their act on stage. 

They pulled a couple of people on stage as part of their program and it was hilarious to watch the Blue Man silently communicate with the audience member. They do a lot of body movements and starring!  


Fun facts! 
They go through a lot of props during the show. Here are a few things that they use during a week of performances! Yikes! 
  • 8 boxes of Captain Crunch
  • 32 pounds of Jello
  • 385 Marshmallows
  • 50 gallons of paint
  • 444 mashed up bananas <----- That's a lot of bananas!
  • 40 pieces of white chocolate Toblerone


The end of the show was pretty much a dance party! We all got on our feet and followed the robots dance moves on screen, then huge lit up balls were dropped from the ceiling and were pushed around by the audience! 

Overall, it was such a fun night and a great way to forget all my worries and stresses of being a parent! 


If you are interested in experiencing a Blue Man Group Performance here in Chicago, check out the information below! 

Tickets are available from $49-$99. Tickets may be purchased at the Briar Street Theatre by calling the box office at (773) 348-4000; by calling Ticketmaster at (800) 982-2787; at all Ticketmaster ticket centers or via the Internet at www.ticketmaster.com/bluemanchicago. For a full show schedule and ticket pricing, please visit www.blueman.com/chicago.

Special rates are available for groups of 10 or more, varying from $46- $64 per person. For groups of 10 or more, call the group sales department to book at: 773.348.3300 or email chicagogroups@blueman.com to request information.

2015 Fall Performance Schedule:

October
Thursday, October 1 – 8 p.m.
Friday, October 2 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, October 3 – 2, 5 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, October 4 – 4 p.m.
Thursday, October 8 – 8 p.m.
Friday, October 9 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, October 10 – 2, 5 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, October 11 – 4 and 7 p.m.
Wednesday, October 14 – 8 p.m.
Thursday, October 15 – 8 p.m.
Friday, October 16 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, October 17 – 2, 5 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, October 18 – 4 and 7 p.m.
Wednesday, October 21 – 8 p.m.
Thursday, October 22 – 8 p.m.
Friday, October 23 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, October 24 – 2, 5 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, October 25 – 4 and 7 p.m.
Wednesday, October 28 – 8 p.m.
Thursday, October 29 – 8 p.m.
Friday, October 30 – 8 p.m.


November
Saturday, October 31 – 1 and 4 p.m.
Sunday, November 1 – 1 and 4 p.m.
Thursday, November 5 – 8 p.m.
Friday, November 6 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, November 7 – 2, 5 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, November 8 – 1 and 4 p.m.
Thursday, November 12 – 8 p.m.
Friday, November 13 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, November 14 – 2, 5 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, November 15 – 1 and 4 p.m.
Thursday, November 19 – 8 p.m.
Friday, November 20 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, November 21 – 2, 5 and 8 p.m.
Sunday, November 22 – 1 and 4 p.m.
Monday, November 23 – 8 p.m.
Tuesday, November 24 – 8 p.m.
Wednesday, November 25 – 5 and 8 p.m.
Friday, November 27 – 12, 3, 6 and 9 p.m.
Saturday, November 28 – 12, 3, 6 and 9 p.m.
Sunday November 29 – 1 and 4 p.m.
 



7 comments :

  1. I would like to see this show

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow! Looks great! I'd like to see this show with my friends in order to share opinions after that. It is always useful to learn something new, especially for students so I would add this play to the list of 7 Hobbies Science Says Will Make Your Brain Works Smarter And Faster because it makes your brain thing another way. Thanks for sharing this.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have never seen a blueman group performance but I have heard great things about them!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Looks so amazing. I'd love to go there to attend.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I have been to a Blue Man Group performance. What crazy silly fun!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for commenting. For giveaways please make sure we have a way of contacting you by either leaving your email or having it available in your profile. Good luck! :0)

Share with your friends!